The International Hunter Education Association-USA conducts an "Administrator's Academy" biannually for professional hunter education staff employed by state and provincial fish and wildlife agencies and U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service federal aid staff that administer hunter education program grants. The Administrator's Academy is often scheduled in conjunction with the IHEA-USA's Annual Conference or Board Meetings, which makes it convenient for executive board and other administrators to attend both events.

IHEA-USA's Administrator's Academy Held in Denver, CO Oct. 14-17th

The 2014 Academy was held in conjunction with the Fall IHEA-USA Board Meeting in Colorful Denver, CO and hosted by the Colorado Parks and Wildlife whose new administrator, Todd Schmidt, was also an Academy participant.  Schmidt, along with staff members, Kris Eng and Chris Flohr, served as excellent hosts to administrators and staffs from throughout the United States.

Presenting at the Academy were:

  • IHEA-USA Board Members & Executive Director - IHEA-USA Overview/History and Hunter Education Program, Policies & Assistance
  • Matt Dunfee, Wildlife Management Institute - Hunting and Shooting Sports Recruitment, Retention and Reactivation (3Rs) Action Plan
  • Otto Jose (Reg. 6) and Fabian Romero (Reg. 3) - USFWS Federal Aid Information and Issues for Hunter Education Administrators
  • Gary Berlin, Paulette Lubke and Otto Jose - CPW Volunteer Hunter Education Instructors - CPW Range and Practical Range Exercises

THANKS to all who hosted, presented and participated in the 2014 ACADEMY!

Front Row L to R: Randy Huskey (IHEA-USA President); Steve Hall (IHEA-USA Exec. Dir.); Ginamaria Smith (AK HE Admin.); Joshua Mackay (NH - IHEA-USA Reg. 3 Rep.); James Reed (OR - IHEA-USA REg. 1 Rep.); Megan Wisecup (IA - IHEA-USA VP/Treasurer); Fabian Romero (USFWS Reg. 3 Rep.); Paulette Lubke (IHEA-USA Office Mgr.); Nicole Corrao (VT HE Admin.); Nicole Jimenez (USFWS Reg. 2 Rep.); Matt Dunfee (WMI)

Back Row L to R:  Larry Morrison (IN - IHEA-USA Reg. 2 Rep.); Todd Schmidt (CO HE Admin.); Travis Casper (NC - IHEA-USA Reg. 4 Rep.); Melissa Neely (NY-IHEA-USA Secretary); Aaron Webber (USFWS Reg. 2 Rep.) Ashley Lynch (AZ HE Admin.); Robert Ramirez (TX HE Admin.); Ja Eggett (UT HE Admin.); Kirk Smith (UT HE Admin.); Daneil Pieterse (VT HE Admin.)

Not Pictured:  John Sears (IA - Instructor Advisory Rep.) and Gary Berlin ( - CO Hunter Ed. Instructor)