Anyone born on or after August 1, 1977 must show proof of completing a Hunter Education course prior to purchasing a hunting license except active duty U.S. military personnel, Alabama residents who are active members of the National Guard of the United States, and persons certified by the Alabama Peace Officers Standards and Training Commission as law enforcement officers who are employed by a law enforcement agency. The Wildlife Heritage Act of 2007 provided a mentor provision for hunter education. Hunting license buyers now have the option to hunt under the "supervision required" status in lieu of passing the hunter education course. Hunters under supervision MUST be under normal voice control, not to exceed 30 feet away from a properly licensed hunter 21 years of age or older. Under no circumstance shall the supervising person be the holder of a "supervision required" license.
Hunter Education Certification is required for young hunters in Units 7, 13, 14, 15, and 20. If you are under 16 years of age, you must have either successfully completed a Basic Hunter Education course or be under the direct immediate supervision of a licensed hunter who is (a) 16 years of age or older and has successfully completed a certified hunter education course, OR (b) born on or before January 1, 1986. If you are 16 years of age or older AND were born after January 1, 1986 you must have successfully completed a Certified Hunter Education Course before you can hunt. In addition, all hunters must complete a Hunter Education Certification class before hunting in these areas:
Eagle River Management Area for black bear & small game,
Anchorage Coastal Wildlife Refuge, Mendenhall Wetlands State Game Refuge if under age 15 or be accompanied by an adult, Palmer/Wasilla Management area (shotgun for big game), and all army military lands.
Hunters in weapons restricted areas (archery, muzzleloading, or shotgun) must complete a state-approved certification course for that weapon. Weapons certification does not satisfy general Hunter Education Certification requirements and visa versa.
Beginning July 1, 2016, if you were born on or after January 1, 1986 you must have successfully completed a department approved bowhunter education certification course to hunt big game with archery equipment and the certification card must be carried in the field when hunting.
All hunters participating in archery-only hunts must obtain bowhunter education certification.
In accordance with the Alaska regulations, in order to hunt big game in a â€œmuzzleloader onlyâ€ or in a weapons restricted area, a hunter must have successfully completed a muzzleloader education certification course.
Beginning July 1, 2018, you may not hunt with a crossbow in any hunt or area for big game unless you have successfully completed an ADF&G-approved Crossbow Education course.
Hunter Education graduation is required for 10 to 14 year-olds who wish to hunt big game.
It is unlawful for persons born after 1968 to hunt wildlife without having on the person a valid Arkansas hunter education certification.
(1) Youths Hunting under direct supervision of an adult at least 21 years of age.
(2) Persons possessing a valid hunting license/permit displaying the dealer imprinted code DHE (Code 01.00C, Deferred Hunter Education). Requirements for a person to be eligible to hunt with DHE-coded licenses/permits are as follows:
(a)Be at least 16 years of age and born after 1968 and not hunter-education certified.
(b)Be in the immediate presence of an adult hunter who is at least 21 years of age and possesses valid hunter education certification, or who was born before 1969.
(c)A DHE-validated hunting license/permit may be obtained once in a lifetime.
(d)Not eligble if convicted of prior violation of this regulation.
(3) Any person who has successfully completed a state approved hunter education training course and has on his person a valid hunter education certificate issued by another state or province.
PENALTY: $50 to $1,000
All hunting license buyers must have either a CA license, a hunting license from another state that is not more than 2 hunting years old, or H/E certification from CA or another state or province.
Required of anyone born on or after January 1, 1949 to purchase any hunting or trapping license.
Firearms Hunting: Certificate required of all persons regardless of age who have not held a resident firearms license in the past five years or for a first time licensee.
Bowhunting: Connecticut Advanced Bowhunter Education Certificate or its equivalent (NBEF/IBEP content) from another state required for all archery permit applicants. Previous resident bowhunting license does not qualify.
All persons born after Jan. 1, 1967, must satisfactorily complete a Hunter Education course before obtaining a Delaware Hunting License.
Hunter Education is required of all persons born on or after June 1, 1975.
To purchase a Hunting License you must have completed an approved Hunter Education course. A "Letter of Exemption" can be issued if you were born "before" January 1, 1972, and can provide proof of a "Hawaii" hunting license purchased before July 1, 1990.
Residents and non-residents born on or after Jan.1, 1961, must successfully complete a hunter education course before purchasing a season hunting license. However, a hunter education course is not required to purchase a one (1) day or seven (7) day hunting license. Hunters age 12-15 must complete a hunter education course before hunting unless under supervision of a licensed adult hunter. Hunters age 12-15 must be under adult supervision while hunting on a WMA. Hunters under age 12 are not required to complete a hunter education course, unless hunting on National Wildlife Refuges (NWRs), or Park Services lands, children 10-16 must carry a valid hunter safety certificate. Hunter education is not required to hunt on one's own land or land of a parent or guardian.
To purchase a hunting license you must have completed an approved Hunter Education course if you were born after January 1, 1975.
To purchase a hunting license you must have completed an approved Hunter Education course if you were born on or after January 1, 1980.
Born after December 31, 1986
To purchase a hunting license you must have completed an approved Hunter Education course if you were born after January 1, 1972
Anyone born on or after July 1, 1957 must successfully complete a certified hunter education course in order to hunt in Kansas
All hunters born after Jan. 1, 1975, shall have a valid hunter education card IN POSSESSION WHILE HUNTING. A card is not needed for purchase. Exceptions: 1) Children under 12 may hunt without a card if accompanied by an adult. 2) Persons exempt from a hunting license are also exempt from hunter education card requirements (i.e., landowners; military on furlough). 3) Persons with a Hunter Education Exemption Permit may hunt without a card while accompanied by a legal adult hunter.
Any person born on or after Sept. 01, 1969 must have proof of completion of a hunter education course to hunt in the State of Louisiana. Except, a person may hunt without hunter education if they are under the direct supervision of a person born before Sept. 1, 1969 who has a valid hunting license or under the direct supervision of a person 18 years of age or older who has proof of successful completion of a hunter education course. Minimum age for certification is 10 year of age.
Applicant for an adult hunting license must show proof of having previously held an adult license to hunt with firearms in any year beginning with 1976 or successful completion of an approved hunter safety course from this or any other state.
To obtain an adult archery hunting license, you must show proof of having held an adult license to hunt with bow and arrow in any year after 1979 or successful completeion of an archery education course.
To obtain a crossbow permit, you must complete crossbow education or have proof of having hunted in another state that allowed crossbow use.
To purchase a hunting license you must have completed an approved Hunter Education course unless you hunted prior to July 1, 1977. Three day non-resident waterfowl hunters are exempted.
It shall be unlawful for any resident or non-resident to hunt for any bird or mammal in the commonwealth unless such person has successfully completed a hunter education course as prescribed by this section, or unless such person held a license to hunt before January 1, 2007.
You must take hunter safety if you were born after
January 1, 1960.
A hunter safety certificate or previous hunting license is required to purchase any Michigan Hunting License.
Hunters anticipating an out-of-state hunting trip need to obtain a certificate prior to their trip, most states require hunters to carry their certificate when hunting and need it to purchase a license.
* Michigan also offers the Mentored Youth Hunting program for individuals under the age of 10.
Hunter Education is required of all persons born after December 31, 1979 in order to purchase a big or small game hunting license.
Hunter Education is mandatory for all persons born on or after January 1, 1972, and plans to purchase a Mississippi hunting license. Also, anyone 12-15 years old must have a certificate of satisfactory completion of a hunter education course approved by the department before hunting alone in this state. Anyone under the age of 12 must be in the presence and under the direct supervision of a licensed or exempt hunter at least 21 years of age when the child is hunting.
Any person 16 years of age or older, those born on or after January 1, 1967 shall obtain and display an approved Hunter Education certificate card prior to purchase of any firearms hunting permit. Minimum age is 11 to be certified by the Missouri Hunter Education course, youth under 16 must provide birth certificate as proof of age at course. Any Missouri resident 16 years of age or older can take the course all online, those 15 years of age or younger must attend an in-person skills session.
*EXEMPTIONS: Youth under 16 are not required to be hunter education certified if: both resident and non-resident youth under 16 hunt in the immediate presence of a Hunter Education Certified adult mentor 18 years of age or older or age exempt mentor (born before January 1, 1967), no minimum age to hunt for small game, minimum age of 6 for deer and turkey. Both resident and non-resident youth may purchase deer and turkey permits at a much reduced cost, small game may be hunted without permit.
Adult resident and non-resident hunters can purchase an Apprentice Hunter Authorization (good for 1 full year) with their permits and then hunt in the immediate presence of a properly licensed adult mentor hunter 18 years of age or older or age exempt mentor (can do this for two years maximum);
Resident hunters 16 and older with a developmental disability as outlined by section 630.005, RSMo and fail to successfully pass the hunter education course, may apply for an exemption to always hunt in the immediate presence of an properly licensed adult hunter. Resident landowners hunting on their own property only, with a landowner permit (landowners mentoring those not eligible to hunt on a landowner permit must have Hunter Education.) Anyone born before January 1, 1967.
Effective Oct. 1, 2003, anyone born after Jan. 1, 1985 must have a hunter ed card to purchase a Montana hunting license. We honor cards from all states and provinces.
Hunter Education all
Hunters, age 12 through age 29, must have on their person, proof of completion of Firearm Hunter Education while hunting with either a firearm or air gun. Hunters, age 12 through age 29, hunting deer, antelope, elk or mountain sheep with bow and arrow or crossbow must carry proof of completion of Bow Hunter Education.
Apprentice Hunter Education Exemption Certificate -
Hunters age 12 through age 29 who have NOT completed a Firearm Hunter and or Bow Hunter Education course and want to give hunting a try, under limited conditions, may obtain an â€œapprentice hunter education exemption certificateâ€ from the Commission. This exemption is to provide the novice hunter an opportunity to try hunting and receive training from an experienced hunter prior to making the commitment of completion of the required hunter education training, so - A hunter using an â€apprentice exemptionâ€ must be accompanied at all times while hunting. This â€œapprentice exemptionâ€ can only be obtained once in each persons life time, expires on December 31st of the year obtained and may be renewed only once. The fee is $5.
In Nebraska any firearm or air gun hunter under age 12,or those hunters age 12 through age 29 using an apprentice hunter education exemption certificate, must be accompanied at all times while hunting. Accompanied is defined as: in the presence of a licensed â€œexperiencedâ€ hunter age 19 or older, if that hunter is age 19 through age 29 they must carry on thier person proof they have completed the hunter/bowhunter education course. There can be no more than 2 hunters under age 12 or using an â€œapprentice exemptionâ€ accompanied by the â€œexperiencedâ€ hunter at any time and the â€œexperiencedâ€ hunter must at all times be in unaided visual and verbal communication with the child under age 12 and or the â€œapprenticeâ€ hunter age 12 through age 29.
Please note that all hunters must also purchase and have on their person any and all required permits, licenses and stamps while hunting in addition to meeting the hunter education requirements.
Anyone born after Jan. 1, 1960, must show proof of Hunter Education each time they purchase a hunting license. Proof of Hunter Education is: An official original or duplicate Hunter Education certificate, or a past year's hunting license with a Hunter Education number or unique mark verifying Hunter Education.
To purchase a hunting license you must have completed an approved Hunter Education course, or provide proof that you have previously held a hunting license in any state or province. Hunters and trappers in New Hamshire must attend training courses specific to the license type they wish to purchase. By state law, anyone planning to buy a basic hunting license, archery license or trapping license must complete the respective hunter, bowhunter or trapper education course. Individuals may purchase each of these licenses by showing a certificate of completion from the appropriate course, or a previously issued license of the same type.
All persons who wish to hunt or trap in New Jersey must be properly licensed. It is unlawful for any person age 10 or older to hunt without a hunting license. It is unlawful for any person age 12 or older to trap without a trapping license. Hunting/trapping licenses are valid for the calendar year and expire on Dec. 31 regardless the purchase date. To acquire your first New Jersey hunting/trapping license, present to a license agent either an appropriate hunter/trapper education course completion card or a resident license from this or any other state.
An Apprentice License allows a new hunter (or new to hunting with a particular sporting arm) to participate in the sport but does not require completion of a hunter education course. However, an apprentice MUST hunt under the direct supervision and guidance of a hunting mentor, hunting together as a unit in the same location. Mentors must be 21 years of age or older and must possess a valid NJ Hunting License for the weapon type being used. Both residents and non-residents are eligible. Individuals are limited to two apprentice licenses per weapon type per lifetime. The Apprentice License
cannot be used as proof of the hunter education requirement for purchasing a regular license. Due to N.J. Firearm ID Card regulations, Firearm Apprentice Licenses are limited to individuals 18 years of age and older. An archery Apprentice License holder
must be 14 years of age or older. There are no free youth apprentice licenses. Apprentice license holders are NOT eligible for a Bear Permit, Rifle Permit or Muzzleloader Deer Permit and may not hunt with any type of rifle. An air gun is not considered a rifle.
Apprentice hunters must ALWAYS hunt under
the direct supervision of a licensed hunter and cannot
hunt at night nor hunt for coyote, fox or black bear.
Apprentice hunters must adhere to hunting laws,regulations and must purchase all hunting permits,stamps or the HIP certification, as required. For more information pertaining to the Apprentice Hunting License visit https://www.njfishandwildlife.com/hntlic_apprentice.htm
Hunter Education is required of hunters* under 18 years of age to apply for, or buy, any type of firearms hunting license unless the youth is registered in the New Mexico Mentored Youth Hunting Program (youth 10 and over). Youth hunters must have proof of passing a state certified hunter education course and/or have a current MY number in their possession while hunting.*All hunters hunting McGregor/Ft. Bliss military installations are required to have hunter education. Bow Hunter Education is not mandatory, but is highly recommended.
All hunters, regardless of age, are required to present either a hunter education certificate or a previous hunting license to qualify for a license.
On or after July 1, 2013, a person, regardless of age, may not purchase a hunting license in North Carolina without producing one of the following: a hunter education certificate of competency, a NC hunting heritage apprentice permit, or a NC hunting license issued prior to July 1, 2013.
All persons born after 1961 shall submit or exhibit a certificate of successful completion of a hunter education course before purchasing any hunting license. A certificate of completion for the same course of study issued by other states, provinces or countries is valid in North Dakota.
To purchase a hunting license you must have completed an approved Hunter Education course or present evidence of having previously held a hunting license.
All persons under 18 years of age must possess prove of hunter education while hunting any species by any means, except when hunting on own property or parent's property. Proof of hunter education is carry a hunter education certificate or having hunter education certification printed on a valid hunting license.
To purchase a hunting license you must complete an approved Hunter Education course, if you have not held a hunting license in this Commonwealth or another state or nation.
To purchase a hunting license you must have completed an approved Hunter Education course unless you present evidence of holding a prior years Rhode Island license.
All residents and nonresidents born after June 30, 1979, must successfully complete a hunter education course that is approved by the Department of Natural Resources before a hunting license can be obtained.
To purchase a hunting license you must have completed an approved Hunter Education Course if you are under the age of 16.
If born on or after Jan 1, 1969, must have proof of successfully completing a hunter education course.
Every hunter (including out-of-state hunters) born on or after Sept. 2, 1971, must successfully complete a Hunter Education Training Course. Proof of certification or deferral is required to be on your person while hunting. Minimum age of certification is 9 years. Single-day in-person course cost is $15. Persons 17 years of age and older have the option of taking a course in person or online. The cost of an approved online course varies by provider. Visit TPWD web site for information about various course options.
If you were born on or after Sept. 2, 1971, and you are:
â€¢ under 9 years of age, you must be accompanied*.
â€¢ age 9 through 16, you must successfully complete a hunter
education course or be accompanied*.
â€¢ age 17 and over, you must successfully complete a hunter education
course (including an online-only option); or purchase a â€œHunter Education Deferralâ€ and be accompanied**. Hunter Education Deferral (cost: $10) â€“ Allows a person 17 years of age or older who has not completed a hunter education program to defer completion for up to one year. A deferral may only be obtained once and is only valid until the end of the current license year. A person who has been convicted or has received deferred adjudication for violation of the mandatory hunter education requirement is prohibited from applying for a deferral. **Accompanied means: By a person (resident or non-resident) who is at least 17, who is licensed to hunt in Texas, who has passed hunter education or is exempt (born before Sept. 2, 1971), and you must be within normal voice control, (Preferably within physical control). Proof of certification or deferral is required to be on your person while hunting.
Note: Certification is NOT required to purchase a hunting license.
Note: Bowhunter education does NOT substitute for Hunter Education certification.
A person born after December 31, 1965, may not purchase a hunting license or permit unless proof is presented to the Division or one of its authorized wildlife license agents that the person has passed a Division-approved hunter education course offered by a state, province or country.
An applicant for a hunting license must present either a previous or current hunting license from any state or Canadian province, or a certificate or letter of proof showing satisfactory completion of an approved hunter or firearms safety course from Vermont or any other state or province, or other satisfactory proof of prior license or hunter/firearms safety certification.
To purchase a hunting license you must have completed an approved Hunter Education course if you are twelve to fifteen years of age, or sixteen and over and have never held a license to hunt. Hunter Education is not required for those purchasing an apprentice license, but they must be accompanied and supervised by a licensed adult. Likewise, those under 12 must be accompanied and supervised by a licensed adult.
All first-time hunters purchasing their first Washington license and who are born after 1/1/72
A hunting license may not be issued to any person who was born on or after Jan. 1, 1975, unless the person submits to the license agent a certificate of training or proof of completion of a course approved by the I.H.E.A. or Director of WV DNR 20-2-30a
To purchase a hunting license you must have completed an approved Hunter Education course if you were born on or after January 1, 1973 OR, you can purchase a mentor license and hunt without Hunter education as long as you follow the mentor hunting rules.
NO person born on or after Jan. 1, 1966, may apply for and receive any Wyoming hunting license, NOR take any wildlife by the use of firearms on land other than that of his own family, unless the person possesses and can exhibit a certificate of competency and safety in the use and handling of firearms.
Hunter Education is mandatory for 12 & 13 year olds. Anyone 14 and older can challenge the First Time Hunter Test or take the Hunter Education course.
Youth ages 10-17 may hunt with a junior hunting licence, no education requirement. At 18 years of age, the Conservation and Outdoor Education (CORE) program, BC hunter education program is mandatory. All youth under 18 years of age must be accompanied by a licenced adult hunter.
Non residents hunting big game must be accompanied by a licenced guide. No education course required to get a non-resident hunting licence.
Students must be a minimum of twelve years of age. All first-time hunters (including bowhunters) must show proof of having taken the Manitoba Hunter and Firearm Safety Course OR a similar course from another province or state. Hunter Education became mandatory in Manitoba in 1969, therefore anyone purchasing a hunting license who was not 19 years of age in 1969 and had not previously held a hunting license, must have the Hunter Education training requirements. NOTE* Starting January 1, 2012, ALL hunters will have to produce a Hunter Education Certificate number to purchase a Manitoba hunting license.
All New Hunters must complete the Firearm Safety/Hunter Education Program prior to applying for a Big or Small game license.
To purchase a hunting license you must have completed an approved Hunter Education course.
All hunters born on or after Janurary 1, 1981 and all first time hunters must complete a Firearm Safety/Hunter Education course. Bow hunters are also required to complete a Bow Hunter Education course. Students must be 13 years of age to participate in the Firearm Safety/Hunter Education program. Conservation Education certificates from other states or provinces are recognized by New Brunswick.
Hunter Education Stand Alone course is minimum of 12.5 hours of instructor-based education. A "One Stop" course combines the Canadian Firearms Safety Course and Hunter Education Course. Minimum 20 hours of instruction.
* Ontario residents may hunt at 15 years of age provided they have parental consent. The Hunter Apprenticeship Safety Program (HASP) allows residents (12 yrs and older) to participate under the direct and immediate supervision of a qualified mentor following the successful completion of a hunter education course and examination. Participants must share one firearm and have parental consent if under the age of 16.
To purchase a hunting license to hunt with a firearm, a bow or a cossbow, residents must have successfully completed an approved Hunter Education course. To trap, residents must have successfully completed an approved Trapper Education course.
The requirements to obtain a hunter's or a trapper's certificates are: be a Quebec resident, be at least 12 years of age and not have had the said certificate suspended or cancelled following a Court conviction.
Anyone under the age of 16 for bow or crossbow hunting, and 18 for firearm hunting, must be accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who is the holder of a hunter's certificate appropriate with the arm used or a non-resident's hunting license.
Under the "Federal Firearm Act", for firearm hunting, anyone who doesn't have a firearm possession license, must be under the presence and immediate supervision of a person who is in lawful possession of the firearm.
All hunters hunting on Prince Edward Island are required to be in possession of a Firearm Safety Certificate from any province or state.
1) All first time hunters and all individuals born on or after
September 1, 1968 are required to successfully complete a
Firearm/ Hunter Safety Course.
2) All individuals who were born before September 1, 1968, and who have hunted previously can apply for a P.E.I. Firearm Safety Certificate by
signing an affidavit. ( currently under review)
All Yukon Residents born after April 1, 1987 are required to take and successfully complete a recognized hunter training course prior to obtaining a hunting license. Non Residents that wish to hunt big game in the Yukon are required to be guided by a registered Yukon Outfitter or by a Yukon Resident holding a Special Guide License. Bison, goat, sheep, elk, deer, and wolverine may not be hunted under a Special Guide Licence. Other restrictions may apply.