Professional of the Year Award: Sponsored by NRA

A Hunter Education “Professional of the Year” nominee must be a full-time, paid employee of the state, province or jurisdiction in which he/she resides.  Selection is for performance and/or outstanding service to the agency, state, province or jurisdiction in Hunter Education or any facet of hunting.  Nominee must support the IHEA-USA mission, including, but not limited to:  1) Education of Hunters, 2) Community Service, 3) Recruitment Efforts, 4) Enforcement Efforts, 5) Youth Hunting Activities, 6) Innovation in Training, and 7) Any Other Considerations Note: This award recognizes a Hunter Education Professional’s efforts over the last year. Work in Hunter Education over the individual’s lifetime will receive consideration, but is not the primary criteria on which the award is judged and given. The National Rifle Association makes the final selection based on nominations sent to IHEA-USA and forwarded to NRA who uses a panel to judge the final selection.

Year Recipient State
2016 Monica Bickerstaff Texas
2015 Mark Newell Oregon
2014 Scott Sarantakis Missouri
2014 Thomas Baumeister Montana
2013 Tim Lemon North Carolina
2012 George Mountjoy Kentucky
2011 Jo Anne Peagler Florida
2010 Wesley Blair North Carolina
2009 David Dodson Virginia
2008 Dale Hochhausen Wisconsin
2007 Heidi Rao Texas
2006 Doug Bilgo Wisconsin
2005 David Denton North Carolina
2004 John Plenke Wisconsin